Spotlight: Fashion & Fitness in Toronto with Ruby Benson

I grew up listening to the Spice Girls and watching shows like Fresh Prince, so I definitely think growing up with all those 90s images has had huge impact on my style.

In the latest instalment of Modern Charmant’s Spotlight, we had the opportunity to chat with Toronto-based lifestyle blogger Ruby Benson of Rags x Ruby and Complex. In this exclusive interview with Ruby, she talks about the importance of staying active, the city of Toronto and breaks down her sense of style. Check out what she had to say as we explored the west end and did some shopping.

MC: Can you describe the outfit you’re currently wearing?

RB: My t-shirt is probably one of my favourite t-shirts right now, I mean who doesn’t love Space Jam? I got it at the release of the Air Jordan 7 Retro Hares. My skirt is from top shop. The shoes are Stan Smiths from the Adidas x HYKE collaboration.

MC: What are your thoughts on the Air Jordan 7 “Hares”? 

RB: I’m definitely into them.  I read somewhere that the silhouette was heavily inspired by the Huarache line-up in ’92 and those are definitely one of my favourite Nike silhouettes. A couple months ago I made friends with a manager at a sneaker store, so when they got them in, he called me to come grab a pair. I ended up walking out of the store wearing both the shirt and the shoes. He was laughing at me!

 MC: What about being active and living a healthy lifestyle makes you like it?

RB: Over the past year I have been focusing on filling my life with positivity, whether that be surrounding myself with positive people or putting myself in positive situations. I definitely think that eating right and working out contribute to living a happy and healthy life, which is the ultimate goal.

MC: What’s your motivation to work out and stay active everyday?

RB: I am my own motivation. I love pushing myself and accomplishing things that I never thought I could. A couple of years ago, people would have laughed in disbelief if I told them I was going to the gym, but now working out, whether that be going to my private boxing class (which I LOVE), or doing a barre class, has just become a part of my daily routine.

MC: What is your go-to pair of sneakers? 

RB: I am a die hard Huarache fan, but right now I’m dying for a pair of white Achillies Common Projects and a pair of Hender Scheme 4s.

MC: What about for guys?

RB: If a guy has a good pair of kicks on (and I don’t mean they have to be an expensive brand, they just need to be a little more unique), he instantly becomes more attractive to me!

Branded sportswear dominated the streetwear and sneaker game in the 90s, and we are definitely seeing a mass cultural revival of what is now considered the sports luxe trend.

MC: What are your favourite activities or exercises that help you to stay active and healthy while living in Toronto?

RB: I recently downloaded Class Pass which is a fitness app that lets you sign up for classes at a bunch of different studios in Toronto. The app has classes available from 6:30AM to 9:30PM, so it’s super flexible with timing, which is something I need because I am always busy!

MC: How do you think companies such as Adidas, Nike and Under Armor have impacted the world of street fashion?

RB: I’m a 90s baby, so I grew up during an era of great street fashion. Branded sportswear dominated the streetwear and sneaker game in the 90s, and we are definitely seeing a mass cultural revival of what is now considered the sports luxe trend.

 MC: In particular, what aspect of being a 90s baby has influenced your style to what it is today?

RB: I grew up listening to the Spice Girls and watching shows like Fresh Prince, so I definitely think growing up with all those images has had huge impact on my style. I’ve always had an obsession and love for vintage bomber jackets and windbreakers with fun patterns. I remember when I was in university, I would make my friends drive me out to this huge value village in the middle of nowhere and I would just leave with all these crazy dope bombers!

MC: Your go-to brand for activewear clothing?

RB: Most of the clothes that I work out in are Nike. They just have a good selection of bras and leggings.

MC: What’s a local Toronto clothing store you feel is a hidden gem?

RB: I absolutely love F as in Frank on Queen. I have always had a deep love for vintage clothes and they have some really cool pieces there!

 MC: What’s currently on your workout playlist?

RB: I know this is so random, but I love working out to soul music. It just has such a good vibe and it gives me great energy to push myself in my workout! I also just recently startedd making mixes for my site, so be ready for upcoming workout mixes!

MC: One Ruby Benson-exclusive tip on staying fit?

RB: It’s a mix between eating healthy and finding a class or gym that you love so that you won’t ever dread working out!

 For more of Ruby Benson, check out her blog and her Instagram (@ragsxruby).

Leave a Reply

